At UNSW, we recognise our up-and-coming researchers with awards and prizes. We also provide postgraduate researchers with the opportunity to apply for a wide range of prestigious scholarships.

Scholarship Opportunities

Scholarships range from annual stipends, living allowances and tuition fee costs, to travel scholarships and supplements. They are available to support current and new postgraduate research candidates at UNSW.

If you are interested in applying for a postgraduate scholarship, please visit the UNSW Scholarships website.

UNSW Arts & Social Sciences Top-Up Scholarships

The five top-ranked holders of RTP and UIPA (including both University Domestic and International Postgraduate Awards) will receive a UNSW Arts & Social Sciences top-up scholarship of $5,000 per annum for three years.

Students do not need to apply for the top-up scholarships and recipients will be notified by the Faculty after receiving notification of an RTP or UIPA award. Recipients of the top-up scholarships are required to maintain satisfactory progress throughout the duration of their research program. 

*Please note that top-up scholarships are for three years only and will not be extended even if the RTP or UIPA is extended.

*Recipients of a University Research Excellence Award are not eligible for a UNSW Arts & Social Sciences top-up scholarship.

Postgraduate Prizes

In 2003, UNSW Arts & Social Sciences saw the opportunity to further encourage and reward students who complete a PhD thesis by introducing the Best Doctoral Faculty Thesis Prize. This prize is now included in the Dean's Research Awards.

Awarded each year for the most outstanding PhD thesis, based on examiners’ reports, the winning student receives a cash prize. Each School and Research Centre may nominate two candidates.

Dean's Award for Best Doctoral Thesis Winners

2018 Winner

Dr Emily Hughes for her thesis entitled, 'Heidegger, affectedness, and the question of the temporality of being’. 

Supervised in the UNSW School of Humanities and Languages by Dr Joanne Faulkner and Dr Simon Lumsden

Dean's Award for Best HDR Publication

2018 Winners

Anthony Chmiel
Jacqueline Dalziell