Annual Awards Celebrate Research Excellence

2 May 2018

Dean's Research Awards 2018

Against the picturesque backdrop of Walsh Bay, UNSW Arts & Social Sciences has celebrated outstanding research performance at it’s annual Dean’s Research Awards.

Now in its sixth year, the awards recognise the quality and impact of research in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and the Creative and Performing Arts, and reward research excellence amongst staff across the Faculty.

Held on Tuesday 1 May at The Bar at the end of the Wharf, ceremony guests were welcomed with an introduction by Professor Helen Groth, Associate Dean (Research). Also in attendance was Professor Dorottya Fabian, the Faculty’s Associate Dean (Research Training), who coordinated the Higher Degree Research (HDR) student awards and read out the citations on the night.

Winners were then presented their awards by UNSW Arts & Social Sciences Dean, Professor Susan Dodds with the assistance of Professor Ana Deletic, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Professor Laura Poole-Warren, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Training) and Dean of Graduate Research.

Professor Dodds was impressed with the calibre of this year’s nominations and believes it reflects the quantity, quality and relevance of research output from across the Faculty.

“UNSW Arts & Social Sciences has a strong research culture. Our academic staff and HDR students are not afraid to explore big ideas and, as a Faculty, we are committed to generating research that has real impact” said Professor Dodds.

2018 Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the 2018 Dean’s Research Award recipients:

Academic Excellence

Achievements by an Early Career Researcher


Dr Stacy Tzoumakis, School of Social Sciences, for outstanding research achievement since completing her PhD.


Dr Kari Lancaster

Dr Rebecca Collie

Dr Bianca Fileborn

Achievements in Research Leadership


Professor Chris Davison, School of Education, for her significant contribution to the research efforts of her peers and colleagues.


Associate Professor Jan Breckenridge

Dean’s Award for Social Impact


Dr Natasha Cortis, Social Policy Research Centre, for her research work on NDIS pricing – a UNSW led collaboration with RMIT University and Macquarie University.


Dr Greg Dolgopolov, School of the Arts & Media for his research work relating to the Vision Splendid Outback Film Festival in Winton Central Queensland.

Dean’s Award for Scholarly Impact


Associate Professor Jihyun Lee, School of Education for her journal article: 'Personal and social-contextual factors in K-12 academic performance: An integrative perspective on student learning' in Educational Psychologist.


Professor Alex Broom, Dr Emma Kirby, Dr Katherine Kenny, Dr Sophie Lewis and Ms Stefanie Plage, Centre for Social Research in Health and School of Social Sciences, for a suite of work developing a critical social science of antimicrobial resistance at UNSW.


Dr Jesse Cale

Dr Carolien van Ham

Best Creative Work


Associate Professor Mary Zournazi, School of Social Sciences, for her outstanding documentary film: Dogs of Democracy.


Dr Sandy Evans

Dr John Peterson

Best Monograph by an Early Career Researcher


Dr Nicholas Apoifis, School of Social Sciences, for his book: Anarchy in Athens (Manchester University Press, 2017).


Dr Emma Jane

Dr Hoa Nguyen

Best Monograph


Scientia Professor Julian Murphet, School of the Arts & Media, for his book: Faulkner’s Media Romance (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2017).


Dr Sean Pryor

Dr Andrea Benvenuti

Best HDR Supervision


Dr Peter White, School of the Arts & Media, for his outstanding track record in higher degree research supervision.


Associate Professor Karyn Lai

Associate Professor Anne Brewster

Best Thesis


Emily Hughes, School of Humanities & Languages, for her thesis titled: Heidegger, Affectedness, and the Question of the Temporality of Being (Supervisors – Dr Jo Faulkner and Dr Simon Lumsden).


Sharon Mee, School of the Arts and Media (Supervisors – Dr Lisa Trahair and Dr Erin Brannigan)

Alyssa Critchley, School of Humanities & Languages (Supervisors – Associate Professor Matthew Kearnes, Emeritus Professor Stephen Muecke and Professor Ed Scheer)

Best HDR Publication


Anthony Chmiel, School of Arts and Media for his journal article: 'Back to the inverted-U for music preference: A review of the literature' in Psychology of Music


Jacqueline Dalziell, School of Social Sciences for her book chapter: 'Microbiology as Sociology: The Strange Sociality of Slime,’ in What if Culture Was Nature All Along?


Dita Svelte, School of Social Sciences