Scholarships and Prizes

At UNSW, we recognise our up and coming researchers with awards and prizes. We also provide postgraduate researchers with the opportunity to apply for a wide range of prestigious scholarships.

Scholarship opportunities

Scholarships range from annual stipends, living allowances and tuition fee costs, to travel scholarships and supplements.

Scholarships are available to support current and new postgraduate research candidates at UNSW.

If you are interested in applying for a postgraduate scholarship, please visit the UNSW Scholarships website.

Arts & Social Sciences top-up scholarships

The ten top-ranked holders of Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA) and International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (IPRS) (including both University Domestic and International Postgraduate Awards) will receive an Arts & Social Sciences top-up scholarship of $5,000 per annum for three years.

Students do not need to apply for the top-up scholarships and recipients will be notified by the Faculty after receiving notification of an APA or IPRS award.

Students who receive the Faculty top-up scholarship are required to maintain satisfactory progress throughout the duration of their research program. 

*Please note that top-up scholarships are for three years only and will not be extended even if the APA or IPRS is extended.

*Recipients of a University Research Excellence Award are not eligible for a Arts & Social Sciences top-up scholarship.

Postgraduate prizes

Best doctoral thesis faculty prize

In 2003, Arts & Social Sciences saw the opportunity to further encourage and reward students who complete a PhD thesis by introducing the Best Doctoral Faculty Thesis Prize.

Awarded each year for the most outstanding PhD thesis, based on examiners’ reports, the winning student receives a cash prize.

Each School and Research Centre may nominate two candidates.


Dr Rebecca Oxley for her PhD thesis entitled 'Attending to fathers with postnatal depression: lived embodiment and bio-graphical systematicity.'


Dr Josephine McSkimming for her thesis titled, 'Identity formation and re-formation within and beyond Christian Fundamentalism: A post-structural narrative analysis of power and resistance'.

Supervised by Dr Michael Wearing and A/Prof Carmel Flaskas


Eureka Henrich for her thesis titled, ‘Whose stories are we telling? Exhibitions of migration history in Australian Museums 1984 – 2001’ is an in-depth examination of the representation of migration history in Australian museums in the late twentieth century.


Dr Megan Carrigy for her thesis titled 'Performing History, Troubling Reference: Tracking the Screen Re-enactment' supervised by Professor Jodi Brooks (School of the Arts and Media).


Dr Craig Lundy for his thesis titled 'Deleuze, History and Becoming', supervised by Professor Paul Patton (History and Philosophy) and co-supervised by Dr Simon Lumsden (History and Philosophy).


Dr Sean Bowden for his thesis titled 'The Ontological Priority of Events in Gilles Deleuze’s The Logic of Sense', supervised by Prof Paul Patton (History and Philosophy) and co-supervised by Dr Simon Lumsden (History and Philosophy).


Dr Diana Adis Tahhan for her thesis titled 'Touching at Depth: Intimate Spaces in the Japanese Family', jointly supervised by Dr William Armour (Languages and Linguistics) and Professor Andrew Metcalfe (Social Sciences and International Studies).


Dr Blanca Tovias de Plaisted for her PhD thesis entitled 'Resistance and Cultural Revitalisation: Reading Blackfoot Agency in the Texts of Cultural Transformation, 1870-1920', jointly supervised by Professor David Cahill (School of History and Philosophy) and Associate Professor Sue Kossew (School of English, Media and Performing Arts).


Dr William Martin (School of English) for his PhD thesis entitled 'The recurrence of rhythm: Configurations of the voice in Homer, Plato and Joyce', supervised by Associate Professor Bill Ashcroft (School of English) and Associate Professor Peter Kuch (School of English)


Dr Tara Forrest (School of Modern Language Studies and School of Media, Film and Theatre) for her PhD thesis entitled 'The politics of imagination in Benjamin, Kracauer, and Kluge.', supervised by Dr Jodi Brooks (School of Media, Film and Theatre) and Associate Professor Gerhard Fischer (School of Modern Language Studies)


Dr Craig Turnbull (School of History) for his PhD thesis entitled 'To make a desirable place of residence: Improvement and the landscape of the home in Chicago, 1890-1920', supervised by Professor Ian Tyrrell (School of History);

Dr Kane Race (NCHSR) for his PhD thesis entitled 'Pleasure consuming medicine', supervised by Associate Professor Rosalyn Diprose (School of Philosophy) and Professor Susan Kippax (National Centre for HIV Social Research).


Dr Steven Wakefield (Department of Spanish & Latin American Studies) for his PhD thesis entitled 'Returning Medusa's Gaze: Baroque Intertext in Alejo Carpentier' supervised in the Department of Spanish & Latin American Studies by Drs John Brotherton and Stephen Gregory.