The Walkley Foundation

UNSW Arts & Social Sciences is a proud partner of the Walkley Foundation, the peak professional body representing Australian journalists. As a provider of media and journalism studies, UNSW Arts & Social Sciences' partnership with the Walkley Foundation reflects our Faculty’s commitment to fostering quality journalism, recognising excellence in young journalists and our constructive engagement with the media industries.

Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards

In 2017, we are supporting the Community & Regional Journalism category of the Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards. This was a new category introduced in 2016.

“We’re excited to introduce a new category in the Walkley Young Journalist of the Year Awards — the Community/Regional Journalism Award. Australia’s best reporters often begin their careers in regional or community news outlets. The importance of covering local issues, of bearing witness to the developments and changes which can have an extraordinary impact on the lives of locals, is something which should never be underestimated. The difficulties of holding those in power to account can be exacerbated by the very fact that regional reporters usually live and work in the very same small community about which they report.

Because of the drastic cuts in our industry, courageous and bold journalism is essential for good governance in community and regional areas. This award is to reward such reporting among young journalists.”

Kate McClymont, Walkley Advisory Board Chair

Entries for the Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards have now closed.

Student Journalist of the Year Award

This all-media category recognises excellence in student journalism across all media including print, radio, television, photography, and digital. The award winner and three finalists are chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence, including: newsworthiness, research, writing, production, incisiveness, impact, ethics, originality, innovation and creative flair. Entry for the Student Award is free.

  • Open to journalists aged 28 and under
  • Student journalist category is free to enter
  • Overall winner gets a 2 week trip to the US and mentoring opportunities

Enter here

Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship Application 

  • Get a head start in television journalism with the Walkley-Jacoby Scholarship
  • For students and grads 26 and under
  • 12 weeks paid internship at Channel Nine, the Walkley Foundation, an AFTRS course of your choice and mentoring from a senior journalist
  • Free to apply – and past applicants will tell you the interview process often leads to jobs

Enter here